Blogging from Home Quarantine: My 2023 Year-end Report

As soon as I flew home for the holidays to the Philippines over a week ago, I caught COVID-19. My partner and I spent our Christmas in quarantine instead of flying to my hometown. We both experienced “mild” symptoms (cough, fever, chills, colds, body pains, etc) but are now almost back to normal. 

What a hectic couple of months it has been!! I thought taking a break meant having time. But with so many things I want(ed) to do, time is a resource I just want so much more of!! But in the spirit of the holiday season, I’d like to share a habit I’ve been doing consecutively for the past 6 years.

On the very last workday of the year (usually on Dec 28 in Japan), the very last task I would do before finally taking the New Year holidays would be to make my personal year end report.  Typically in academe, a report would consist of things like:

  • papers published 
  • conferences attended
  • research grants 
  • talks given 
  • trainings attended

But my list would also include more what I felt were important to my personal growth as a scientist:

  • new concepts learned
  • new software learned
  • tiny improvements in my set-up
  • connections made 
  • experimental methods I learned
  • papers reviewed
  • etc.

There were times I felt that I was stuck, stagnant; sometimes it felt like I’ve been working so hard, but that it was never enough; or that there’s so much to do, it felt like being pulled in so many directions. Making this list helped me get out of my head. It would show me all of the small things I already did to get myself to this particular point in time. The perspective of how far we’ve actually come, is only revealed to us when we look back at the trail of successes, failures (and fun and heartbreak) we’ve had along the way. 

I think the year 2023 was the year I reclaimed the narrative to my life. It was eventful to say the least. 

So as another reminder to myself, that everything is as it should be [a phrase I learned from Yoga With Adriene], here is Jess’ 2023 list of accomplishments:

Work:

  • published my last first author paper in J. Appl. Phys.
  • graduated my 2nd bachelor advisee
  • received 2 grant rejections
  • received 2 notice of interests to join my lab (Turned them down because I was leaving)
  • learned how to use ChatGPT
  • created several new writing homework for my Technical English Class
  • built a second THz TDS set-up
  • understood some DFT basics
  • analyzed time-resolved AlN quantum dot response

“Work”:

  • got my Data Science Lab Certification
  • learned how to use LinkedIn
  • attended several Tech Meetups in SF and in Tokyo
  • joined an actual job fair 
  • got interview invitations
  • learned Python for Data Science
  • learned R basics
  • relearned WordPress
  • started a blog
  • learned about SEO, page authority, backlinks and other website things
  • registered my Japanese business
  • tried out freelancing
  • got my AirBnb business running (grateful for being consistently booked!)
  • processing family business incorporation
  • got on many informational interviews – data science, scientist, former academic(s), scientific editor, English teacher turned taxi driver, recruiter

Life

  • got engaged!
  • planned a wedding
  • went to Universal Studios Japan for the first time
  • did a temple stay in Wakayama
  • got my US Visa
  • got my Japanese permanent residency
  • attended Tokyo Rainbow Pride
  • first ever 5 week holiday!! (in my life)
  • first time in California
  • got COVID
  • quit my job
  • quit academia
  • started film photography again
  • spent time with family in Japan and Manila
  • got my taste of WOOFing
  • “graduated” from therapy
  • spent time with friends in Japan
  • met new family 
  • got COVID-19
  • mom survived her COVID-19
  • Christmas in home quarantine
  • restarted film photography
  • learning instax mini photography

And to keep to the theme of things, our quarantine also forced us to slow down, amidst the busiest season of all. I wish you all enjoy your year-end holidays and take care!

-Jess

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started